Research Guides: 1L Resource Guide: eBooks

Aspen Learning Library

Aspen Learning Library
Formerly known as Wolters Kluwer, Aspen provides full-text, online ebook access including the following series:

Aspen covers the fundamentals of some legal topics in a video and audio. The In Other Words Video and Audio Series cover fundamental topics in law written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. Aspen also provides resources on Bar Preparation.

Aspen Learning Library User Guide
Aid for logging in, accessing books, and authentication methods.

LexisNexis Digital Library

LexisNexis Digital Library
LexisNexis and OverDrive®, the leading digital reading platform for libraries and schools worldwide, have joined forces to provide a law library management solution that suits evolving legal research needs. Through Pitt, you have access to the following sets:

Adoption Law and Practice
Americans with Disabilities Act: Public Accommodations and Commercial Facilities
Antitrust Laws and Trade Regulation
Bender's Forms of Discovery
Business Law Monographs
Chisum on Patents
Collier on Bankruptcy
Competition Law of the European Community
Computer Law: A Guide to Cyberlaw and Data Privacy Law
Corbin on Contracts
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit: Practice and Procedure
Courtroom Criminal Evidence
Education Law
Environmental Law Practice Guide
Family Law and Practice
Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure
Federal Securities Act of 1933
Federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934
Federal Standards of Review
Illinois Compiled Statues Annotated
Immigration Law and Procedure
International Estate Planning
Larson's Employment Discrimination
Liability of Corporate Officers and Directors
Mental Disability Law: Civil and Criminal
Military Criminal Justice: Practice and Procedure
Modern Federal Jury Instructions
Moore's Federal Practice
NOSSCR's Social Security Practice Guide
Negotiable Instruments
Newsgathering and the Law
Nimmer on Copyright
Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia
Pennsylvania Transaction Guide
Police Civil Liability
Powell on Real Property
Punitive Damages
Representing the Child Client
Rhoades and Langer, U.S. International Taxation and Tax Treatises
Scientific Evidence
Sports Law Practices
State Constitutional Law
Taxation of Intellectual Property and Technology
Thompson on Real Property
Treatise on Health Care Law
UCC Reporter-Digest
United States Code Service
United States Supreme Court Cases and Comments
Weinstein's Federal Evidence
Williams and Meyers, Oil and Gas Law

HeinOnline

HeinOnline
Hein Online indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories. HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

Additonal eBooks Databases

EBSCO eBook Collection
The eBook Collection by EBSCO has over 300,000 unlimited user EBSCO eBooks, from 855 parent publishers and 3,303 imprints.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Pitt is a HathiTrust Partner Institution; you can log in with your Pitt username and password to get the most out of HathiTrust.
Libby @ PITT (OverDrive)
Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive, loved by millions of readers worldwide.
ProQuest EBook Central
These aggregated collections cover academic disciplines including business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer

Open Access eBooks

Bartleby
Provides free access to classic texts as well as contemporary reference works.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a searchable database of peer reviewed scientific monographs that have been made accessible by academic publishers in open access. DOAB contains the metadata of 'free to share' e-books and provides direct links to the full text of the publications on the websites of the publishers. The collection covers all disciplines but focuses in particular on humanities, law and social sciences. All books in DOAB have a full open access license, making them ‘free to share’.
Google Books
Currently, Google Books has over 15 million searchable titles. Users are able to view some full text books depending on the publisher.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 50,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

1L Resource Guide: eBooks