Barco Law Library Archives and Special Collections

The Pittsburgh Legal Journal is the official legal journal of the Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas containing reports from Pennsylvania judicial districts and other leading decisions. The Barco Law Library has this resource in print beginning with vol. 2 (1871) - vol. 128 (2002), available in Periodicals. Print began in 1853 with weekly presses. Issued by the Allegheny County Bar Association, the PLJ is the official source for trial lists and legal notices. The publication also contains sheriff sale advertisements, court notices, and court schedules.

The Pennsylvania Law Weekly is a weekly supplement to the Legal Intelligencer. The Barco Law Library has this resource in print beginning with vol. 17 (1994) - vol. 43 (2020), available in Periodicals. The Pennsylvania Law Weekly has discontinued print publication after December 26th, 2023. Articles after that date can be viewed electronically.

The Barco Law Library maintains a limited rare book collection with its primary focuses on Pennsylvania colonial and early state law, treatises on the developments of American, English and common law, and early editions of classic treatises.  Rare book decisions regarding purchases and donations are made carefully and very selectively with emphasis on works of very high reputation and value as essential resources into the underlying foundations of law. 

In obtaining materials for the collection the works should be physically sound and able to be maintained in less than ideal conditions (for rare books).  Works are purchased for the importance of the information they contain, and not for the collectable value of the book itself.  Purchases should be made from reliable vendors, particularly those who specialize in rare and antiquarian legal materials.

Autographed copies of contemporary works may be housed in the Rare Book Collection if the value of the autograph merits increased security.  However, autographed copies of books are generally not purchased if the autograph adds a premium cost to an otherwise available work.

Reprint editions of classic texts and treatises will generally be purchased to the criteria for monographs and housed in the main collection, unless the value or limited availability of the reprint merits increased security.  (E.g.1986 facsimile edition of the Great Domesday.)Reprint editions of classic texts and treatises will generally be purchased pursuant to the criteria for monographs and housed in the main collection, unless the value or limited availability of the reprint merits increased security.  (E.g.1986 facsimile edition of the Great Domesday.)

All materials in the rare book collection are documented in PittCat. Access to the rare book collection is restricted.  All users, including law school faculty and students, must contact the Circulation Desk or a librarian for access.  Only law school faculty members are permitted to remain in the Rare Book room without escort.