Library Policies • Ask a Librarian • Hours
Circulation (412) 648-1323 3900 Forbes Ave. Pittsburgh, PA 15260
The Barco Law Library maintains a limited rare book collection with its primary focuses on Pennsylvania colonial and early state law, treatises on the developments of American, English and common law, and early editions of classic treatises. Rare book decisions regarding purchases and donations are made carefully and very selectively with emphasis on works of very high reputation and value as essential resources into the underlying foundations of law.
In obtaining materials for the collection the works should be physically sound and able to be maintained in less than ideal conditions (for rare books). Works are purchased for the importance of the information they contain, and not for the collectable value of the book itself. Purchases should be made from reliable vendors, particularly those who specialize in rare and antiquarian legal materials.
Autographed copies of contemporary works may be housed in the Rare Book Collection if the value of the autograph merits increased security. However, autographed copies of books are generally not purchased if the autograph adds a premium cost to an otherwise available work.
Reprint editions of classic texts and treatises will generally be purchased pursuant to the criteria for monographs and housed in the main collection, unless the value or limited availability of the reprint merits increased security. (E.g.1986 facsimile edition of the Great Domesday.)
All materials in the rare book collection are documented in PittCat. Access to the rare book collection is restricted. All users, including law school faculty and students, must contact the Circulation Desk or a librarian for access. Only law school faculty members are permitted to remain in the Rare Book room without escort.
The Law Down: A Century Remembered, A 100 Year History of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law" was written by W. Edward Sell, dean emeritus of the school, distinguished professor emeritus and Pitt's longest-serving tenured professor. The book recounts the history of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law from 1895 to 1994 and offers dates and graduation years of faculty and alumni.
Typed and handwritten notes of author during period 1922-1923 while law student at Pitt Law.
All researchers are asked to fill out our Researcher Registration Form. This form can be filled out prior to your visit or on the day of your arrival.
If you wish to come to the Archives to conduct research, you may do so free of charge. However, you must contact the department ahead of time to schedule an appointment. Appointments should be made two weeks in advance of the desired research date. Visitors to the Barco Law Library will be asked to show identification.
Patrons are asked to wash their hands before touching any rare book materials and handle all books with care. Patrons are asked to wear protective gloves when deemed necessary by the Archives.
Make no marks or erasures on any book. Use the acid-free strips provided for marking pages to be copied.
Eating or drinking is not allowed in the research area.
Use pencils only, no pens or markers. Laptops and photography are permitted.
Photography of collections is allowed. Please ask Archives staff before taking pictures.
The Archives does not provide on-site copying services of archives and special collections materials.
Requests for permission to have reproductions for publication purposes are granted on a case-by-case basis, depending on the rules of the collection and the condition of the document. The Archives reserves the right to deny copy requests based on issues related to copyright, preservation, or other circumstances.
If you know what materials you would like reproduced or intend to use in your research, please fill out the Application for Reproduction and Use form.
