Library Policies • Ask a Librarian • Hours
Circulation (412) 648-1323 3900 Forbes Ave. Pittsburgh, PA 15260
The Barco Law Library Archives and Special Collections (henceforth ASC) is a digital and physical repository housed within the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. It is responsible for the acquisition, preservation, storage, exhibition, and access of published and unpublished materials. The ASC maintains a valuable repository that preserves the unique heritage of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law, dating back to 1843 when the first law courses were offered at the University of Pittsburgh (formerly Western University of Pennsylvania). These collections have been amassed through gifts, transfers from the general collection, and selective purchases. They include photographic material providing insights into the rich history of the law school, showcasing its physical evolution, events, and depictions of faculty, students, and staff; historical publications such as newspapers, yearbooks, bulletins, and event ephemera; artwork depicting key figures of the law school, and rare materials already owned by the School of Law or acquired over time. Some records pertaining to the operations of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law are maintained by the University Archives.
If you are interested in specific holdings in Barco Law Library Archives and Special Collections, please search collection finding aids or contact our professional staff at barcoref@pitt.edu or (412) 648-1325.
Scholarship@Pitt Law is an open-access digital repository that collects, develops, and disseminates the intellectual and creative scholarship, publications, and other archival material of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. Scholarship@Pitt Law is a service of the Barco Law Library. Exhibits featured highlight the law library collections preserved in our digital repository and Archives and Special Collections housed in the library.
The collections on this site include digitized material from the Barco Law Library Archives and Special Collections (henceforth ASC), an archival repository housed within the University of Pittsburgh School of Law responsible for the acquisition, preservation, storage, exhibition, and access of materials. The ASC maintains a valuable repository that preserves the unique heritage of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law, dating back to 1843 when the first law courses were offered at the University of Pittsburgh (formerly Western University of Pennsylvania). These collections have been amassed through gifts, transfers from the general collection, and selective purchases. They include photographic material providing insights into the rich history of the law school, showcasing its physical evolution, events, and depictions of faculty, students, and staff; historical publications such as newspapers, yearbooks, bulletins, and event ephemera; artwork depicting key figures of the law school, and rare materials already owned by the School of Law or acquired over time. Some records pertaining to the operations of the University of Pittsburgh School of Law are maintained by the University Archives. These collections have been digitized and made available online for download and exploration.
This collection features newspapers created by students, alumni, faculty, and staff from the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. Covering a range of dates from 1958 to 2006, included are titles such as the Pitt Law Alumni Newsletter, Law School Newsletter, Pitt Law Record, School of Law News, Pitt Law School Journal, Voir Dire, Pitt Law Chronicle, School of Law Notes. Additionally, the collection features a University Times edition focused on the School of Law building. This collection has been digitized and made available online for download.
This digital exhibit reflects on the life and work of Professor Robert Berkley Harper (JD '71). The Bob Harper Exhibit showcases a digital collection by the University of Pittsburgh School of Law Library relating to Professor Harper through photographs, newspaper articles, scholarship, and his 2022 memorial service hosted at the University of Pittsburgh.
This collection features the University of Pittsburgh School of Law Bulletins stored in our Archives and Special Collections at the Barco Law Library. Announcements & bulletins appear to have been advance publications geared towards the recruitment of students, spanning from 1897 to 1974. They offer comprehensive details about the school, including course descriptions, faculty and student listings, the academic calendar, admission requirements, fees, and later editions include photographs of facilities and student organizations. These documents have been digitized and are now available for online download.
This digital exhibit, in honor of Roslyn "Roz" Litman (JD '52), serves to pay homage to her service and profound legacy on the Pittsburgh region. The Roz Litman Digital Exhibit showcases the digitized resources collected by the University of Pittsburgh School of Law relating to Roz Litman's life and work through photographs, case briefs, newspaper articles, scholarship and research, and personal interviews.
The University of Pittsburgh School of Law possesses an extensive art collection displayed throughout the Barco Law Building, from murals to portraits and busts of prominent law school alumni, faculty, former deans, and Pennsylvania legal practitioners.
