Library Policies • Ask a Librarian • Hours
Circulation (412) 648-1323 3900 Forbes Ave. Pittsburgh, PA 15260
All researchers are asked to fill out our Researcher Registration Form. This form can be filled out prior to your visit or on the day of your arrival.
If you wish to come to the Archives to conduct research, you may do so free of charge. However, you must contact the department ahead of time to schedule an appointment. Appointments should be made two weeks in advance of the desired research date. Visitors to the Barco Law Library will be asked to show identification.
For patrons who cannot travel to the Law School to conduct research, the ASC will assist in the identification of potentially relevant materials for your research topic or for photocopying. We do not transcribe, paraphrase, or otherwise interpret information for the researcher.
Research requests generally take 2-3 weeks to complete, depending on the nature of the question and the number of outstanding requests at the time of submission. In addition, the ASC can only offer one hour of research assistance, patrons are asked to make an appointment for requests that will take longer than one hour to complete.
Please also note that remote research requests are limited and the ASC can only handle copying/scanning requests up to 20-50 individual pages. If a request exceeds this number, we suggest you schedule an appointment to visit the Archives in person.
Patrons are asked to wash their hands before touching any materials and handle all documents with care. Patrons are asked to wear protective gloves when deemed necessary by the Archives.
Documents should be maintained in the exact order they are arranged in each file. If a document appears to be out of order, the researcher should notify the Archives staff. Do not attempt to move or rearrange documents yourself. Remove only one folder from a box at a time.
Make no marks or erasures on any document. Use the acid-free strips provided for marking pages to be copied.
Eating or drinking is not allowed in the research area.
Use pencils only, no pens or markers. Laptops and photography are permitted.
While photography of collections is allowed, please request permission from archives staff to use your camera before taking photographs.
Manuscript material must be photographed in its folder, mat, or sleeve, in the order in which it has been arranged.
Please do not use flash.
Researchers agree that photographs are for personal study purposes only.
Permission to photograph does not grant permission to publish.
Barco Law Library archives permits photocopying but reserves the right to restrict copying from any of its collections.
The Archives does not provide on-site copying services of archives and special collections materials, but can be requested. If you know what materials you would like reproduced or intend to use in your research, please fill out the Application for Reproduction and Use form.
Researchers agree that photocopies are for personal study purposes only.
Fragile items may not be photocopied.
The use of bound volumes, manuscript, photographs, audio and video records, digital records, and other materials are protected by Federal Copyright Law.
Permission to reproduce materials is not permission to publish. If material will be used in a publication or on the Internet, permission to publish must be requested from the Barco Law Library by letter or email.
Permission to publish or quote from previously unpublished materials or from materials under copyright must be obtained from the copyright holder. It is the researcher’s responsibility to secure permission.
In citing, please use the full name of the collection, collection identifier, and name of the archives.
